Listening feeds reading feeds listening…

Erm, so I made a draft of this post a couple of weeks ago, but never got around to polishing and posting. Hence, some of the info is a tad out-of-date. Whatever.

Lately, I feel like I’ve been slacking off a bit. I’m getting my Anki sentences done (some days I clear the lot, others I just get a couple of dozen out of the way). I’m noticing I’m sort of internalising the patterns and grammar now – I just ‘get’ how ので、のに、たら、and so forth work.  Without translating and saying “that means ‘because'” or “that means ‘if'”, which is what my brain was doing at first (to my eternal frustration). The more I read, the more my brain remembers how things work… which is exactly what AJATT/immersion disciples keep saying.

But I watched Your Generation and NCIS on Tuesday, and hibernated in the loungeroom on Wednesday night while Dad watched State of Origin. And I’ve been watching So You Think You Can Dance, too. Too much English! Bad! Khatzumoto would not approve. And neither do I. Oh well, I’ll pick myself up, brush myself off, and get back into Japanese. I started Japanese Accelerator this week, and it’s been quite useful so far. I’ve learnt some new phrases, and I can maybe speak at a slightly better speed, and sound slightly less like I’m regurgitating Understanding Basic Japanese Grammar…!

And the main point of this post? Well, what I came across today was one of those bounce-in-my-seat tiny breakthroughs. I was watching アタシんちの男子 last night (LOL – the theme song just came on NACK5 as I was typing that!), and Sho said 「かしてくれ」while bowing. I knew it has something to do with wanting the suitcase of money the family had just been given, and the fact that he wanted it. And I’d definitely heard the phrase before. But I knew I couldn’t find it in Denshi Jisho, and I  couldn’t quite figure out the exact nuance. So I let it be, because it would come up again and one day I’d get it.

Then this morning, over breakfast, I was reading 花ざかりの君たちへ、and Sano said 「100円貸してくれ」and something in my brain went click, and I got it. Because this time I had the kanji to point to the meaning, and the same body language from Sano that Sho was using when he said it. I’ll never forget what 貸してくれ means now! I’ve seen it written and heard it spoken in context. That’s language in action. Bloody brilliant, that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

